Picture
Quiet little beach at the Halcyon
Friday was finally truly relaxing. We stopped running around St. Lucia and decided to check out one of the other Sandals resorts - The Halcyon. Its much smaller than ours and apparently where all the British tourists go.

We spent the morning at their pool, drinking Dirty Bananas (duh). We also had a good time watching people join the aqua-cising class, including the older guy who was PUMPED to do it. We spent a little time walking around the resort and met Dan the Man who sells souvenirs on the beach. I wanted to buy a wooden fish from him but had no cash. We quickly learned that Sandals hates cash and it was nearly impossible to get any. Our resort would give us a cash advance but we hadn't done it and this resort wouldn't!!! I was bummed, I wanted the fish.

Picture
Andy fetching towels
We had a casual lunch at the Bayside Buffet which was just a little bit of everything in a nice open air venue. After lunch we played some shuffle board (I'm awful) and then it was off to the giant lawn chess. I have no clue how to play chess so Andy decided to teach me. Shortly after starting, one of the resort photographers name Shady dropped by. When I told him I was learning to play he decided to help me and then spent the entire game teaching me to play and give Andy a little run for his money. I think Andy enjoyed the challenge and he did WIN!!!

Picture
A banana tree
We then got a key to a courtesy room so we could change into our dinner clothes. Its a nice perk when you go to the other Sandals resorts. They'll hang onto bags for you and give you a place to change and clean up since most of the restaurants are a little nicer at night. We went back to the Bayside for the Asian Buffet. Unfortunately, it was a tad disappointed. I was really excited for sushi but the sushi was weird. It was "tropical" and had fruit and stuff in it.

After dinner we went back to our resort where we caught the end of a street party. I got another coconut and we were there in time to catch the guys dancing an insanely tall stilts. One even fell over :( But, it was really cool. There was live music and it was nice time. After that we wandered around. The bar area nearest our room had karaoke so we laughed at some of the performers and then headed off to bed.




Leave a Reply.


Share |