Surprise, that's a totally sarcastic title for this blog post :)

Blogging about my wedding planning was a great source of comic relief. It can really be overwhelming and wrought with frustration and tears. My dearest friend Randi is getting married January 12th here in Mobile but she currently lives in Ft. Lauderdale! As you guessed it, I'm a bridesmaid. And I'm having dress issues.

So, here's a post to serve as a cautionary tale for all my other friends and to make Randi, myself and other other bridesmaids feel better.

My dress is 4 inches too small!!!! We ordered over the summer but the dress just arrived on Friday. Myself, Carla and Natalie all received our dresses and had a little model session and crisis struck. The dresses run small :( The dress is about 3 inches smaller than the size chart says it should be!

Then, to make matters worse, it seems like the bridal shop also ordered me a size smaller than I thought I was getting.  See the size on the dress is the size I thought I would get. The problem is the measurements for that size aren't what I thought they'd be! I thought I'd have 1 inch extra in the top but turns out that size is 1 inch smaller in the top...

So, the dress shop ordered me a dress that would be 1 inch too small. And the dress runs 3 inches small. Now, we need to find a miracle 4 inches to make this dress fit. After a lot of phone calls, some nice, some causing tears and one causing screaming, I mailed the dress back to the bridal shop in Ft. Lauderdale!

Fingers crossed they can get me a new dress and not try to charge me a billion dollars for it!

For anyone ordering dresses:
- order early, very very early
-insist they order up.
-Get measurements on the sample dress in the shop and COMPARE it to the size chart!!! A good bridal shop should know what dresses run small, etc. but as Randi has learned the hard way, even a dress they insist "flatters everyone" and is "easy to fit" isn't always! Only in hindsight did I realize we should do this! oops!

On a positive note, the dresses are really pretty! I hope they work mine out without butchering it because it'd be an awesome Mardi Gras dress.

Poor Randi! This isn't the first dress crisis of the wedding either. Randi found her dream dress in her hometown in Ohio and ordered it. Then, the shop closed its doors after 25 years and disappeared. Randi had lost all her money for the dress and had no dress ordered! Luckily, after some fighting she got her money back and she found a shop by her in Florida to order her the same dress, but still a completel nightmare!

Anyone have a dress debacle! We'd love to hear we're not the only ones :)



Leave a Reply.


Share |