Picture
Here Comes the Sun
All photos from Mike and Kelly at KazCreative
Click on the pic for their website
I decided it was time to take a little break from the Honeymoon blogging to do a little wedding recap. I just redid the blog banner so I thought a little actual wedding blogging was in order. What's been on my mind today was our music choices!

As you all know, I put off picking music for quite some time. Not for any reason other than I was busy. But, choosing our music quickly became one of my favorite parts of the wedding.

For a long time, all I considered was the song we'd walk into at the reception. Several years ago when Carly got married she "asked" me if she and Andy could use "my song" aka SexyBack. Since they were getting married first, it only seemed right they use my song (sidenote: Carly, since you're having a baby first you're welcome to my babynames too). Well, sadly, SexyBack is not cool anymore so that was off the list.

Picture
Erin's big Maid of Honor entrance
Then sometime in the fall of 2010, I proclaimed to Andy "we should use the Black Eyed Peas song!!" I thought I was super clever since tonight was going to be a good good night. Andy laughed at me and said "Dan and Teresa JUST used that at their wedding". Ugh!!! Plus, I had a whole year to go so anything on the radio in 2010 was probably going to be terribly overplayed by my 2011 wedding. So, I stopped trying to pick songs.

Finally, summer 2011 rolled around. It was finally time to pick a song!!! Luckily for me, I quickly became obsessed with Party Rock Anthem and spent the entire summer driving around to that song. But, the reception entrance song was suddenly the least of my worries.

Next, it was onto our mother-son and father-daughter songs. First, an awful lot of the "choices" are strange love ballads. Luckily, Andy and his mom settled on Rascal Flatts "My Wish" which is a good solid choice. My dad and I went with Loudon Wainwright's "Daughter". My dad has been a Loudon fan for quite some time so it seemed like a good choice. Ironically, this song plays during the credits of Knocked Up. And its gaining popularity. Carly used it at her wedding as did Andy's friend Heather this past summer.

Picture
The ceremony was definitely the hardest but I am very happy with our choices. In fact, hearing one of the songs on the radio today got me thinking about writing this blog. We chose an instrumental version of Snow Patrol's "Chasing Cars" for the processional of the bridesmaids. I've always liked the song in general but the instrumental version is really pretty but not too traditional so it was a great fit!

Then, for my entrance, I went with an instrumental version of Here Comes the Sun. I am a giant Beatles fan. And, my love of the Beatles is something I've shared with my dad. Since he was walking me down the aisle it seemed very fitting. In fact, after the ceremony I had my uncles give me props for the song choice here. I was really happy with it.

When it was all over Andy and I and the rest of the wedding party walked out to Coldplay's Viva la Vida. It was just pretty, upbeat and seriously who doesn't like Coldplay... they rule the world. Now it makes me happy whenever I hear it because I remember the wedding.

Picture
First Dance
By far, my favorite choice though was our first dance song. Andy and I talked about this for a long long time. There are so many options for a first dance song. But, we ended up choosing something so personal that ended up being a big surprise to my family. My darling cousin Kenzie has a beautiful voice. Years ago when she was in high school she recorded a few songs in the studio with my Uncle Tom playing guitar. She then sent out her CD to all the family and its been in my music library since then. One of the songs she recorded was "I'll Be". I've always loved the song but NOT Edwin McCain. Kenzie's version is lovely!!

Andy and I decided this was a great choice and I quickly emailed Kenzie to ask her permission to use her song. Of course she agreed. But, we didn't end up telling anyone about our choice. It wasn't intentional, it just didn't really come up. Kenzie didn't mention it either. On the day of the wedding, I asked our DJ to announce that the song was by my cousin. Apparently, this was a big surprise to my parents, her parents, and the rest of the family. It ended up being a very nice moment and I can't imagine a more personal song we could have used!

All and all, I'm a happy lady!!!
Erin
11/19/2011 05:23:18 am

Sista, Kenzie is actually playing guitar and singing on those songs!

Reply



Leave a Reply.


Share |